Grete Müller, portrait photo from around 1920.

(Nuremberg City Archives, C21/VII No. 107)

Grete Müller, portrait photo from around 1930.

(Nuremberg City Archives, C21/VII No. 107)

Heidelhoffstrasse 24 is circled in red. There is no house at this location today. The building development here has changed completely. To the north, at the top of the picture, are the tracks of the main railway station. Two underpasses cut through the railway embankment here, the Allersberger Tunnel (left) and the Marien Tunnel (right). Aerial photo 1927.

(Nuremberg City Archives, A 97 No. 357)

Grete Müller

(1898-1940)

Location of stone: Heideloffstrasse 24 District: Glockenhof
Sponsor: Rotary Club Nuremberg Kaiserburg Laying of stone: 11 June 2021

Biography

On 11 June 2021 Gunter Demnig laid six stumbling stones in Nuremberg for victims of National Socialist medical crimes. The victims’ lives were researched by pupils who attended a P-Seminar at Nuremberg’s Hermann Kesten College, led by Dr Maren Janetzko and Dr Pascal Metzger. The project was carried out in cooperation with the history association Geschichte Für Alle e.V. (History for Everyone). To finance the laying of the stones, the seminar participants applied successfully for a donation from Nuremberg’s Rotary Club. One of the biographies reconstructed during the project was that of Grete Müller. Due to a mental illness, she became a victim of the “Euthanasia” programme.

The elder of two sisters, Margarete (also called Grete) Müller was born in Nuremberg on 30 September 1898. Her father Georg Müller was chief executive of the local branch of the “German Association of Works Managers”. Her mother Auguste (née Fischer) worked as a seamstress. The family lived at Heideloffstrasse 24.

During her youth Grete travelled widely and completed a number of traineeships. After studying at a women’s academy, she worked in various locations in the German Reich as a teacher. In 1925, together with her sister Dorothea, she began attending the Loheland School, a life-reform school for women, situated near Fulda. Here she trained to be a gymnastics teacher. Subsequently, Grete took courses in weaving and weaving art and gave lessons herself.

After an incident in which she fell down the stairs, she sustained injuries that made it impossible for her to continue her work, despite treatment in hospitals and periods spent in sanatoriums. She also suffered psychologically as a result.

In September 1934 Grete was taken to the psychiatric hospital in Erlangen, where she was diagnosed as suffering from schizophrenia. The Erlangen mental health court ruled that she be forcibly sterilised. However, the surgery was not performed, on the grounds that she was permanently resident at the hospital. In the summer of 1938 Grete’s mother had her moved to a Catholic hospital in Bamberg. Her condition did not improve there. Shortly after the move, Grete wanted to return to Erlangen. However, as there was no longer room for her in Erlangen, she was transferred to the psychiatric hospital in Ansbach.

National Socialist ideology separated human beings into “valuable” and “worthless”. Countless numbers of people suffering from various illnesses and disabilities, as well as those who were forced to live on the fringes of society, were denied the right to life by the National Socialist state. The term used for what was in fact systematic killing was “euthanasia”. In the years 1940/41 more than 70,000 people were murdered as part of the “T4” operation. The name for the programme of mass murder is an abbreviation of Tiergartenstrasse 4, the address in Berlin of the headquarters of the government agency that implemented the policy.

Within the framework of “Aktion T4” Grete Müller was moved to the killing centre at Hartheim Castle near Linz on 3 December 1940, where she was murdered in the gas chamber.

- Berlin Federal Archives, R 179, No. 18809.

- Nuremberg City Archives, Erlangen Genetic Health Court, UR 708/1934.

- Nuremberg City Archives, Erlangen Psychiatric Hospital, patient file Grete Müller.

- Nuremberg City Archives, C 21/IX registration card.

Grete Müller, Porträtfotografie um 1920.

(Stadtarchiv Nürnberg C21/VII Nr. 107)
Grete Müller, Porträtfotografie um 1930.

(Stadtarchiv Nürnberg C21/VII Nr. 107)
Rot umrandet die Heideloffstraße 24. Ein Haus existiert heute an dieser Stelle nicht mehr, die Bebauung hat sich vollständig verändert. Nördlich davon verlaufen die Gleise des Hauptbahnhofs, der am oberen linken Bildrand zu erkennen ist. Der Bahndamm wir in diesem Bereich von zwei Unterführungen durchbrochen, dem Allerberger Tunnel (links) und dem Marientunnel (rechts). Luftaufnahme 1927.

(Stadtarchiv Nürnberg, A 97 Nr. 357)

Grete Müller

(1898-1940)

Verlegeort: Heideloffstraße 24 Stadtteil: Glockenhof
Patenschaft: Rotary Club Nürnberg Kaiserburg Verlegedatum: 11. Juni 2021

Biografie

Gunter Demnig verlegte am 11. Juni 2021 sechs Stolpersteine für Opfer nationalsozialistischer Medizinverbrechen in Nürnberg. Deren Lebensweg erforschten Schülerinnen und Schüler eines P-Seminars des Hermann-Kesten-Kollegs Nürnberg unter der Leitung von Dr. Maren Janetzko und Dr. Pascal Metzger. Das Projekt wurde in Kooperation mit Geschichte Für Alle e.V. durchgeführt. Die Seminarteilnehmer warben beim Rotary Club Nünberg Kaiserburg erfolgreich um eine Spende für die Verlegung. In dem Projekt wurde unter anderem die Biografie von Grete Müller rekonstruiert. Aufgrund einer psychischen Erkrankung fiel sie dem „Euthanasie“-Programm zum Opfer.

Margarete, genannt Grete, Müller wurde am 30. September 1898 als ältere von zwei Schwestern in Nürnberg geboren. Ihr Vater Georg Müller war Geschäftsführer der lokalen Gruppe des „Deutschen Werkmeister-Verbands“, ihre Mutter Auguste, geborene Fischer, arbeitete als Schneiderin. Die Familie wohnte in der Heideloffstraße 24.

Grete reiste bereits als Jugendliche viel umher und erlernte mehrere Berufe: Zunächst absolvierte sie eine Wissenschaftliche Frauenschule und war an verschiedenen Orten im Deutschen Reich als Erzieherin tätig. 1925 trat sie gemeinsam mit ihrer Schwester Dorothea in die Lohelandschule, eine lebensreformistische Frauenschule in der Nähe von Fulda, ein. Dort ließ sie sich zur Gymnastiklehrerin ausbilden. Anschließend besuchte sie Web- und Kunstwebkurse und gab auch selbst Unterricht.

Ein Treppensturz führte zu körperlichen Beschwerden, die trotz mehrerer Behandlungen in Krankenhäusern und Aufenthalten in Sanatorien eine Berufsausübung verhinderten. An diesem Umstand litt sie auch psychisch.

Im September 1934 wurde Grete in die Heil- und Pflegeanstalt Erlangen eingeliefert, wo man Schizophrenie diagnostizierte. Das Erbgesundheitsgericht Erlangen ordnete die Zwangssterilisierung an, aufgrund der dauerhaften Anstaltsunterbringung wurde der Eingriff jedoch ausgesetzt. Im Sommer 1938 ließ Gretes Mutter sie in ein katholisches Krankenhaus in Bamberg verlegen. Dort verbesserte sich ihr Zustand jedoch nicht. Nach kurzer Zeit wollte Grete zurück nach Erlangen, dort war aber kein Platz mehr frei. Deshalb nahm die Heil- und Pflegeanstalt Ansbach sie auf.

Die nationalsozialistische Ideologie teilte Menschen in „wertvoll“ und „wertlos“ ein. Unzähligen Menschen mit Krankheiten und Behinderungen sowie Personen, die an den Rand der Gesellschaft gedrängt waren, sprach der NS-Staat das Recht auf Leben ab. Man bezeichnete das als „Euthanasie“ und meinte damit planmäßige Vernichtung. In den Jahren 1940/41 wurden mehr als 70.000 Menschen in der staatlichen Tötungsaktion „T4“ ermordet. Das Mordprogramm erhielt seinen Namen nach dem Dienstsitz der durchführenden Behörde in der Tiergartenstraße 4 in Berlin.

Im Rahmen der „Aktion T4“ wurde Grete Müller am 3. Dezember 1940 in die Tötungsanstalt Schloss Hartheim bei Linz verlegt und in der Gaskammer ermordet.

- Bundesarchiv Berlin, R 179, Nr. 18809.

- Staatsarchiv Nürnberg, Erbgesundheitsgericht Erlangen, UR 708/1934.

- Staatsarchiv Nürnberg, Bezirkskrankenhaus Erlangen, Patientenakte Grete Müller.

- Stadtarchiv Nürnberg, C 21/IX Meldekarte.

Stolpersteine in der Nähe