Marie Haag, portrait photo from around 1930.

(Nuremberg City Archives, C21/VII No.56)

Marie Haag, portrait photo from around 1935.

(Nuremberg City Archives, C21/VII No.56)

Gleißbühlstraße 13 is circled in red. The main railway station and railway tracks can be seen at the bottom of the picture. On the northern side of the square (Bahnhofplatz), between Women’s Gate Tower (Frauentorturm) and the Künstlerhaus building, Königstrasse enters the old town’s Lawrence district. Aerial photo 1927.

(Nuremberg City Archives, A97, No. 326)

Marie Haag

(1888-1938)

Location of stone: Gleißbühlstrasse 13 District: Marienvorstadt
Laying of stone: 26 June 2022 Sponsor: Andreas Landenberger

Biography

On 26 June 2022 Gunter Demnig laid ten stumbling stones at eight different locations in the city. They included a stone for Marie Haag, an “Aryan” who was attacked by SA men during the “Night of Broken Glass”. 

The so-called Night of Broken Glass from 9-10 November 1938 was a turning point in the increasing persecution of Jews by the National Socialist state. Throughout the German Reich, Jews were subjected to brutal violence in public. It is not surprising that the violence was particularly excessive in Nuremberg, the city of the Nuremberg rallies, the racist Nuremberg Laws and the radical anti-Semitism of Julius Streicher. In Nuremberg more than 20 people died, either during the night, or later as a consequence of the violence they had suffered. One of the murder victims was Marie Haag.

Marie Haag was born into a Protestant family on 1 June 1888 in Kaierberg, a small village near Feuchtwangen. Her parents were Georg Haag and his wife Margarete (née Schumann). In 1926 Marie moved to Nuremberg. In the years that followed, she worked as a domestic for various families. 

From September 1935 onwards it was difficult for Jews to find domestic staff. Under the “Nuremberg Laws”, promulgated in September 1935, Jews were not allowed to employ non-Jewish domestics under the age of 45. In October 1937 Marie Haag started to work as a domestic for the widowed hop trader Otto Tuchmann. She was 49 years old at the time. As was the custom, she lived in her employer’s house.

According to the court records, a group of SA men stormed the apartment on the night in question and Marie received a blow to the head. Eleven days later she collapsed in the apartment and was taken to the municipal hospital, where she died on 28 November 1938. The post-mortem examination concluded that her death had been caused by a brain haemorrhage. In his statement to the prosecution, the head of the institute of pathology at the hospital said “that a consequential link between the blow to the head and the cerebral apoplexy which resulted in death is possible and cannot be discounted.”

Sources:

- Nuremberg City Archives, C 21/I registration card.

- Nuremberg City Archives, C 90 No. 159 section report.

- Dominik Radlmaier: Marie Haag: a non-Jewish Victim of the Night of Broken Glass, Nuremberg 2015

Marie Haag, Porträtfotografie um 1930.

(Stadtarchiv Nürnberg, C21/VII Nr. 56)
Marie Haag, Porträtfotografie um 1935.

(Stadtarchiv Nürnberg, C21/VII Nr. 56)
Rot umrandet die Gleisbühlstraße 13. Am unteren Bildrand ist der Hauptbahnhof mit den Gleisanlagen zu erkennen. Auf der nördlichen Seite des Bahnhofsplatzes führt zwischen dem Frauentorturm und dem Künstlerhaus die Königstraße in die Lorenzer Altstadt. Luftaufnahme 1927.

(Stadtarchiv Nürnberg, A97, Nr. 326)

Marie Haag

(1888-1938)

Verlegeort: Gleißbühlstraße 13 Stadtteil: Marienvorstadt
Pate: Andreas Landenberger Verlegedatum: 26. Juni 2022

Biografie

Am 26. Juni 2022 verlegte Gunter Demnig an acht Stellen im Stadtgebiet zehn Stolpersteine. Darunter befindet sich ein Stolperstein für Marie Haag, die als „Arierin“ in der „Reichskristallnacht“ von der SA erschlagen wurde.

Die sogenannte Reichskristallnacht vom 9. auf den 10. November 1938 stellte einen Meilenstein in der zunehmenden Judenverfolgung des NS-Staats dar. Im gesamten Deutschen Reich übte man öffentlich brutale Gewalt gegenüber Juden aus. Dass diese Gewaltnacht in Nürnberg besonders exzessiv ausfiel, überrascht nicht: Nürnberg war die Stadt der Reichsparteitage, die Stadt der Rassengesetze und die Stadt des radikalen Antisemiten Julius Streicher. In Nürnberg starben in der Nacht und in der Folge mehr als zwanzig Personen. Ein Mordopfer war Marie Haag.

Marie Haag wurde am 1. Juni 1888 in dem kleinen Dorf Kaierberg bei Feuchtwangen in einer evangelischen Familie geboren. Ihre Eltern waren Georg Haag und dessen Ehefrau Margarete, geborene Schumann. 1926 zog Marie nach Nürnberg und arbeitete in den folgenden Jahren bei verschiedenen Familien als Hausangestellte.

Für Juden war es ab September 1935 schwer, Dienstmädchen zu bekommen. Die „Nürnberger Gesetze“ von September 1935 sagten aus, dass Juden keine nichtjüdischen Dienstmädchen beschäftigten durften, die jünger als 45 Jahre alt waren. Im Oktober 1937 trat Marie Haag eine neue Stelle bei dem verwitweten jüdischen Hopfenhändler Otto Tuchmann an. Sie war damals 49 Jahre alt. Wie es üblich war, wohnte sie bei ihrem Dienstherrn.

In Gerichtsakten ist überliefert, dass in der besagten Nacht eine Gruppe SA-Männer die Wohnung stürmte und Maria Haag dabei einen Schlag auf den Kopf erhielt. Elf Tage später brach sie in der Wohnung bewusstlos zusammen und wurde in das Städtische Krankenhaus eingeliefert, wo sie am 28. November 1938 starb. Bei der Obduktion wurde eine Gehirnblutung als Todesursache festgestellt. Der Leiter des Pathologischen Instituts des Krankenhauses sagte 1949 gegenüber der Staatsanwaltschaft aus, „dass eine mittelbare Beziehung zwischen dem Schlag an den Kopf und dem zum Tode führenden Gehirnschlag möglich und nicht von der Hand zu weisen ist.“

Quellen:

- Stadtarchiv Nürnberg, C 21/I Meldekarte.

- Stadtarchiv Nürnberg, C 90 Nr. 159 Sektionsprotokoll.

- Dominik Radlmaier: Marie Haag: ein nichtjüdisches Opfer der Kristallnacht, Nürnberg 2015.

Stolpersteine in der Nähe