Bertha Heimann, portrait photo from around 1920.

(Nuremberg City Archives, C21/VII No. 62)

Theodorstrasse can be seen in the right-hand half of the picture. The houses with the odd numbers (1 to 11) are on the left-hand side of the street. Picture postcard from around 1910.

Photo Collection Geschichte Für Alle e.V.)

The house at Theodorstrasse 5 is circled in red. Together with Emilienstrasse and Prinzregentenufer, the street is part of a large upper-class residential area built at the beginning of the 20th century on the grounds of the former Klett engineering works. In the bottom left-hand corner of the picture, the Pegnitz River enters the old city. The avenue of plane trees along Prinzregentenufer is also visible. Aerial photo 1927.

(Nuremberg City Archives, A 97 No. 302)

Bertha Heimann

(1882-1941)

Location of stone: Theodorstrasse 7 District: Wöhrd
Sponsors: Matthias Unterdörfer und Sabine Scherer Laying of stone: 11 June 2021

Biography

On 11 June 2021, following suggestions made by Daniela Epstein in Jerusalem, Gunter Demnig laid eleven stumbling stones in Nuremberg for her ancestors. The sponsors of Bertha Heimann’s stone were Matthias Unterdörfer and Sabine Scherer from Nuremberg. Heimann was murdered in the Riga-Jungfernhof camp.

Bertha Heimann, the daughter of Samuel Heimann and his wife Emilie (née Ullmann), was born in Kitzingen on 25 November 1882. The family moved to Nuremberg in 1888. Little is known about Bertha’s life. She remained single and had no children.

On 29 November 1941 Bertha was deported to the Riga-Jungfernhof camp and murdered there.

- Nuremberg City Archives, C 21/X No. 4 registration card.

- Nuremberg City Archives (ed.), Gedenkbuch für die Nürnberger Opfer der Schoa (Quellen zur Geschichte und Kultur der Stadt Nürnberg, vol. 29), Nuremberg 1998, p. 124.

Bertha Heimann, Porträtfotografie um 1920.

(Stadtarchiv Nürnberg, C21/VII Nr. 62)
Auf der rechten Bildhälfte ist die Theodorstraße zu sehen. Die ungeraden Hausnummern (1 bis 11) befinden sich auf der linken Straßenseite. Ansichtskarte um 1910.

(Bestand Geschichte Für Alle e.V.)
Rot umrandet die Theodorstraße 7. Die Straße gehört zusammen mit der Emilienstraße und dem Prinzregentenufer zu einem großbürgerlichen Wohnquartier, welches Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts auf dem Gelände der ehemaligen Klettschen Maschinenfabrik entstand. In der unteren linken Ecke der Aufnahme sind der Pegnitzeinfluss in die Altstadt und die Platanenallee entlang dem Prinzregentenufer zu erkennen. Luftaufnahme 1927.

(Stadtarchiv Nürnberg, A 97 Nr. 302)

Bertha Heimann

(1882-1941)

Verlegeort: Theodorstraße 7 Stadtteil: Wöhrd
Patenschaft: Matthias Unterdörfer und Sabine Scherer Verlegedatum: 11. Juni 2021

Biografie

Am 11. Juni 2021 verlegte Gunter Demnig auf Anregung von Daniela Epstein aus Jerusalem elf Stolpersteine für deren Vorfahren in Nürnberg. Die Patenschaft für den Stolperstein für Bertha Heimann übernahmen Matthias Unterdörfer und Sabine Scherer aus Nürnberg. Heimann wurde im Lager Riga-Jungfernhof ermordet.

Bertha Heimann kam am 25. November 1882 als Tochter von Samuel Heimann und dessen Ehefrau Emilie, geborene Ullmann, in Kitzingen zur Welt. Ab 1888 lebte die Familie in Nürnberg. Über Berthas Lebensweg ist wenig bekannt. Sie blieb ledig und hatte keine Kinder.

Am 29. November 1941 wurde Bertha in das Lager Riga-Jungfernhof deportiert und ermordet.

- Stadtarchiv Nürnberg, C 21/X Nr. 4 Meldekarte.

- Stadtarchiv Nürnberg (Hrsg.), Gedenkbuch für die Nürnberger Opfer der Schoa (Quellen zur Geschichte und Kultur der Stadt Nürnberg, Bd. 29), Nürnberg 1998, S. 124.

Stolpersteine in der Nähe