Arthur Brunner, portrait photo from around 1930.

(Central Archives of the Diocese of Neuendettelsau, case file of Arthur Brunner)

Moltkestrasse 25, circled in red, is located directly on the corner with Himpfelshofstrasse. Moltkesrasse crosses Hochstrasse and leads up to Deutschherrnstrasse. While the sports fields over to the west (on the right-hand side in the picture) still exist today, those over to the east were overbuilt in 1980 when the Wilhelm-Löhe School was erected in this area. Aerial photo 1927.

(Nuremberg City Archives, A 97 No. 264)

Arthur Brunner

(1919-1941)

Location of stone: Moltkestrasse 25 District: Himpfelshof
Sponsor: Rotary Club Nuremberg Kaiserburg Laying of stone: 11 June 2021

Biography

On 11 June 2021 Gunter Demnig laid six stumbling stones in Nuremberg for victims of National Socialist medical crimes. The victims’ lives were researched by pupils who attended a P-Seminar at Nuremberg’s Hermann Kesten College, led by Dr Maren Janetzko and Dr Pascal Metzger. The project was carried out in cooperation with the history association Geschichte Für Alle e.V. (History for Everyone). To finance the laying of the stones, the seminar participants applied successfully for a donation from Nuremberg’s Rotary Club. One of the biographies reconstructed during the project was that of Arthur Brunner. On the grounds of a mental disability, he became a victim of the National Socialists’ euthanasia programme.

Arthus Brunner was born in Nuremberg on 4 January 1919. The son of Georg Brunner, who worked as a storeman, and his wife Babette (née Winkler), Arthur had two older siblings. The family lived at 25 Moltkestrasse in Himpfelshof.

In infancy Arthur contracted measles and polio, resulting in brain damage. The medical diagnosis at the time was “idiocy”. From the age of nine onwards, Arthur was placed in psychiatric hospitals in the Diocese of Neuendettelsau, first in Bruckberg and then Engelthal. His parents visited him regularly and brought him home every summer and for a few days at Christmas.

National Socialist ideology separated human beings into “valuable” and “worthless”. Countless numbers of people suffering from various illnesses and disabilities, as well as those who were forced to live on the fringes of society, were denied the right to life by the National Socialist state. The term used for what was in fact systematic killing was “euthanasia”. In the years 1940/41 more than 70,000 people were murdered as part of the “T4” operation. The name for the programme of mass murder is an abbreviation of Tiergartenstrasse 4, the address in Berlin of the headquarters of the government agency that implemented the policy.

Within the framework of “Aktion T4” Arthur Brunner was moved first to the psychiatric hospital in Ansbach. On 26 February 1941 he was transferred to the killing centre at Hartheim Castle near Linz, where he was murdered in the gas chamber.

- Federal Archives in Berlin, R 179, No. 19357.

- Central Archives of the Diocese of Neuendettelsau, case file of Arthur Brunner.

- Nuremberg City Archives, C 21/IX registration card.

Arthur Brunner, Porträtfotografie um 1930.

(Zentralarchiv der Diakonie Neuendettelsau, Patientenakte Arthur Brunner)
Rot umrandet die Moltkestraße 25, direkt an der Ecke zur Himpfelshofstraße. Die Moltkestraße führt, die Hochstraße kreuzend, hinab zur Deutschherrnstraße. Die hellen Freiflächen am oberen Bildrand sind die Deutschherrnwiese. Während die rechten, westlichen Sportplätze heute noch bestehen, wurde der östliche Teil 1980 mit dem Neubau der Wilhelm-Löhe-Schule überbaut. Luftaufnahme 1927.

(Stadtarchiv Nürnberg, A 97 Nr. 264)

Arthur Brunner

(1919-1941)

Verlegeort: Moltkestraße 25 Stadtteil: Himpfelshof
Patenschaft: Rotary Club Nürnberg Kaiserburg Verlegedatum: 11. Juni 2021

Biografie

Gunter Demnig verlegte am 11. Juni 2021 sechs Stolpersteine für Opfer nationalsozialistischer Medizinverbrechen in Nürnberg. Deren Lebensweg erforschten Schülerinnen und Schüler eines P-Seminars des Hermann-Kesten-Kollegs Nürnberg unter der Leitung von Dr. Maren Janetzko und Dr. Pascal Metzger. Das Projekt wurde in Kooperation mit Geschichte Für Alle e.V. durchgeführt. Die Seminarteilnehmer warben beim Rotary Club Nünberg Kaiserburg erfolgreich um eine Spende für die Verlegung. In dem Projekt wurde unter anderem die Biografie von Arthur Brunner rekonstruiert. Aufgrund einer geistigen Beeinträchtigung fiel er dem „Euthanasie“-Programm zum Opfer.

Arthur Brunner wurde am 4. Januar 1919 in Nürnberg geboren. Seine Eltern waren der Lagerist Georg Brunner und dessen Ehefrau Babette, geborene Winkler. Arthur hatte zwei ältere Geschwister. Die Familie lebte in der Moltkestraße 25 in Himpfelshof.

Als Kleinkind infizierte sich Arthur mit Masern und Polio, woraufhin es zu einer Gehirnschädigung kam. Die damalige ärztliche Diagnose lautete „Schwachsinn“. Seit seinem neunten Lebensjahr war Arthur in Pflegeanstalten der Diakonie Neuendettelsau untergebracht, zuerst in Bruckberg, dann in Engelthal. Seine Eltern besuchten ihn regelmäßig und holten Arthur in jedem Sommer und an Weihnachten für ein paar Tage zu sich.

Die nationalsozialistische Ideologie teilte Menschen in „wertvoll“ und „wertlos“ ein. Unzähligen Menschen mit Krankheiten und Behinderungen sowie Personen, die an den Rand der Gesellschaft gedrängt waren, sprach der NS-Staat das Recht auf Leben ab. Man bezeichnete das als „Euthanasie“ und meinte damit planmäßige Vernichtung. In den Jahren 1940/41 wurden mehr als 70.000 Menschen in der staatlichen Tötungsaktion „T4“ ermordet. Das Mordprogramm erhielt seinen Namen nach dem Dienstsitz der durchführenden Behörde in der Tiergartenstraße 4 in Berlin.

Im Rahmen der „Aktion T4“ wurde Arthur Brunner zunächst in die Heil- und Pflegeanstalt Ansbach verlegt. Anschließend brachte man ihn am 26. Februar 1941 in die Tötungsanstalt Schloss Hartheim bei Linz und ermordete ihn in der Gaskammer.

- Bundesarchiv Berlin, R 179, Nr. 19357.

- Zentralarchiv der Diakonie Neuendettelsau, Patientenakte Arthur Brunner.

- Stadtarchiv Nürnberg, C 21/IX Meldekarte.

Stolpersteine in der Nähe