The “Tiefer Keller” restaurant was located on the ground floor of Frauentorgraben 17. On the far right of the picture is the opera house. Picture postcards 1905.

(Sebastian Gulden Collection)

The house at Frauentorgraben 17 is circled in red. A little to the west (to the left in the picture) is the opera house (today the Staatstheater). The Herkules Velodrome, with its dark roof, is situated directly below the opera house. The large transport museum building is located slightly to the left. Another museum, the German National Museum, is visible to the north of the opera house, behind the city wall. Aerial photo 1927.

(Nuremberg City Archives, A 97 No. 328)

Rudolf Brinkmann

(1908-1941)

Location of stone: Frauentorgraben 17 District: Tafelhof
Sponsor: Fliederlich e.V. – Gay Community Centre Laying of stone: 17 October 2017

Biography

Since 17 October 2017 stumbling stones have been laid in Nuremberg in memory of homosexual victims of National Socialism. The project was initiated by the association Fliederlich e.V., under the leadership of Ralph Hoffmann (†). One of the stones that Gunter Demnig laid on 17 October was for Rudolf Brinkmann, who was murdered in Flossenbürg concentration camp.

Rudolf Hans Brinkmann was born on 21 February 1908 in Stettin. His parents were the telegraph office director Rudolf Brinkmann (senior) und Sophia (née Dannermann). The family was Catholic.

Brinkmann grew up in Hildesheim, where he attended the middle school and subsequently the humanistic grammar school. After passing the Abitur (school leaving examination) he began studying Slavistics and philosophy, first in Freiburg im Breisgau and then in Münster. In 1933 Brinkmann moved to Berlin, where he lived a homosexual life, visiting the meeting places frequented by the gay community. The National Socialists had come to power in the same year, and the homosexual scene was experiencing increasing repression as a result.

In December 1934 the Gestapo arrested Brinkmann in the course of a raid targeted at homosexuals. He was taken to Lichtenburg concentration camp near Torgau and held there for eight months. After his release, the local court in Berlin sentenced him to eight months in prison for contravening Paragraph 175. Brinkmann was judged to have already served his sentence because of the period he had spent in the concentration camp.

However, the conviction had dramatic consequences for Brinkmann: he was now on police records as a convicted homosexual and had to put up with massive discrimination in his attempts to pursue a career. Not allowed to complete his studies, Brinkmann returned to his parents’ home in Hildesheim and decided to train as a bookseller. The plan met with resistance from the authorities however, and came to nothing. In July 1937 the Reich Chamber of Literature refused to grant the required authorisation, stating that, as a homosexual, it was not appropriate for him to pursue a career in bookselling.

It must have come as a great relief for Brinkmann when, almost a year later, he found work: at the beginning of July 1938, he started to work for the Official Bavarian Travel Agency in Nuremberg. There he quickly gained the appreciation of his colleagues. His direct supervisor saw in him a “very calm, hardworking and decent human being”. Brinkmann rented a room in the apartment of Betti Götz at Frauentorgraben 17.

In Nuremberg Brinkmann lived a secluded life, occasionally seeking contact with other homosexuals. His undoing came when he made the acquaintance of a 23-year-old man, whom he first met at the main railway station in February 1939. After meeting him a few times, Brinkmann told him he was homosexual and was interested in him. The young man subsequently denounced Brinkmann to the police.

Following extensive investigations, the Nuremberg-Fürth regional court sentenced Brinkmann to two years in prison on 3 August 1939. He started serving his sentence in the prison in Ebrach and was then moved to Bayreuth Prison. In February 1941, as the end of his imprisonment approached, the criminal investigation department in Nuremberg ordered that he be placed under “preventive custody”. Consequently, he was not released after serving his sentence but was sent instead to Flossenburg concentration camp. Rudolf Brinkmann was murdered there on 17 November 1941.

Sources

- Nuremberg City Archives, C 21/IX registration card.

- Nuremberg City Archives, public prosecutor’s office, Regional Court of Nuremberg-Fürth II, No. 1157.

- Bamberg City Archives, prisoners’ files in St. Georgen-Bayreuth Prison, K 190, No. 95 and Ebrach Prison, K 192, No. 63.

- Online-Book of the Dead of Flossenbürg concentration camp, URL: https://www.gedenkstaette-flossenbuerg.de/de/recherche/totenbuch/.

- Biographical compilation by Matthias Gemählich.

Im Erdgeschoss des Gebäudes am Frauentorgraben 17 befand sich das Restaurant „Tiefer Keller“. Am rechten Bildrand ist das Opernhaus zu sehen. Ansichtskarte 1905.

(Sammlung Sebastian Gulden)
Rot umrandet das Haus Frauentorgraben 17. Etwas westlich (auf der Aufnahme links) ist das Opernhaus (heute Staatstheater) zu erkennen. Direkt darunter mit dem dunklen Dach befindet sich das Herkules-Velodrom. Etwas links davon erhebt sich der mächtige Baukörper des Verkehrsmuseums. Als weiteres Museum ist nördlich des Opernhauses das unmittelbar hinter der Mauer gelegene Germanische Nationalmuseum zu erkennen. Luftaufnahme 1927.

(Stadtarchiv Nürnberg, A 97 Nr. 328)

Rudolf Brinkmann

(1908-1941)

Verlegeort: Frauentorgraben 17 Stadtteil: Tafelhof
Patenschaft: Fliederlich e.V. – queeres Zentrum Verlegedatum: 17. Oktober 2017

Biografie

Seit dem 17. Oktober 2017 erinnern Stolpersteine in Nürnberg auch an homosexuelle Opfer des Nationalsozialismus. Veranlasst hatte die Verlegung der Arbeitskreis Politik bei Fliederlich e.V. unter der Leitung von Ralph Hoffmann (†). An diesem Tag verlegte Gunter Demnig unter anderem einen Stolperstein für Rudolf Brinkmann, der im KZ Flossenbürg ermordet wurde.

Rudolf Hans Brinkmann kam am 21. Februar 1908 in Stettin zur Welt. Seine Eltern waren der Telegrafenamtsdirektor Rudolf Brinkmann (Senior) und Sophia, geborene Dannermann. Die Familie war katholisch.

Brinkmann wuchs in Hildesheim auf, wo er die Mittelschule und im Anschluss das humanistische Gymnasium besuchte. Nach dem Abitur nahm er ein Studium der Slawistik und Philosophie auf. Zu diesem Zweck zog er zunächst nach Freiburg im Breisgau und dann nach Münster. 1933 ließ Brinkmann sich in Berlin nieder, wo er seine Homosexualität auslebte und einschlägige Treffpunkte der schwulen Szene besuchte. Jene war steigender Repression durch die im selben Jahr an die Macht gelangten Nationalsozialisten ausgesetzt.

Im Dezember 1934 verhaftete die Gestapo Brinkmann bei einer Razzia gegen Homosexuelle. Man verschleppte ihn ins KZ Lichtenburg bei Torgau und hielt ihn dort acht Monate lang fest. Nach seiner Freilassung verurteilte ihn das Amtsgericht Berlin wegen Verstoßes gegen den § 175 zu einer achtmonatigen Haftstrafe, die durch die KZ-Haft als verbüßt galt.

Die Auswirkungen der Verurteilung waren für Brinkmann dennoch dramatisch: Er war polizeilich als vorbestrafter Homosexueller erfasst und musste massive Benachteiligungen bei seinem beruflichen Fortkommen hinnehmen. Sein Studium durfte er nicht mehr abschließen. Brinkmann kehrte in den Haushalt seiner Eltern nach Hildesheim zurück und fasste den Entschluss, eine Ausbildung zum Buchhändler zu absolvieren. Dieser Plan scheiterte jedoch an behördlichem Widerstand. Die Reichsschrifttumskammer verwehrte im Juli 1937 die nötige Zulassung unter der Angabe, dass ihm als Homosexuellem die Eignung zum Buchhändlerberuf fehle.

Die Erleichterung muss für Brinkmann groß gewesen sein, als er ein knappes Jahr später Arbeit fand: Anfang Juli 1938 trat er eine Stelle beim Amtlichen Bayerischen Reisebüro in Nürnberg an. Dort genoss er schnell die Wertschätzung seiner Kollegen. Sein direkter Vorgesetzter sah in ihm einen „sehr ruhigen, fleißigen und anständigen Menschen“. Zur Untermiete bezog Brinkmann ein Zimmer in der Wohnung von Betti Götz am Frauentorgraben 17.

In Nürnberg lebte Brinkmann ein zurückgezogenes Leben, gelegentlich suchte er Kontakt zu anderen Homosexuellen. Zum Verhängnis wurde ihm die Bekanntschaft mit einem 23-Jährigen, den er im Februar 1939 im Hauptbahnhof angesprochen hatte. Nach einigen Treffen ließ Brinkmann durchblicken, dass er homosexuell und an jenem interessiert sei. Dieser denunzierte Brinkmann daraufhin bei der Polizei.

Nach umfangreichen Ermittlungen verurteilte das Landgericht Nürnberg-Fürth Brinkmann am 3. August 1939 zu einer zweijährigen Haftstrafe. Anfangs verbüßte er die Haft im Zuchthaus Ebrach, danach im Strafgefängnis Bayreuth. Als im Februar 1941 seine Entlassung näher rückte, entschied die Kriminalpolizei Nürnberg, Brinkmann in „polizeiliche Vorbeugungshaft“ zu nehmen. Dadurch kam er nach Verbüßung der Haftstrafe nicht frei, man wies ihn stattdessen ins KZ Flossenbürg ein. Dort wurde Rudolf Brinkmann am 17. November 1941 ermordet.

- Stadtarchiv Nürnberg, C 21/IX Meldekarte.

- Staatsarchiv Nürnberg, Staatsanwaltschaft bei dem Landgericht Nürnberg-Fürth II, Nr. 1157.

- Staatsarchiv Bamberg, Gefangenenbücher JVA St. Georgen-Bayreuth, K 190, Nr. 95 u. JVA Ebrach, K 192, Nr. 63.

- Online-Totenbuch der KZ-Gedenkstätte Flossenbürg, URL: https://www.gedenkstaette-flossenbuerg.de/de/recherche/totenbuch/.

- Biografische Zusammenstellung von Dr. Matthias Gemählich.

Stolpersteine in der Nähe