Leopold Berger, portrait photo from around 1935.

(www.holocaust.cz/de/opferdatenbank/opfer/76967-leopold-berger)

WIllstrasse 5 is circled in red. Below it, Fürther Strasse and the tracks of the Ludwig Railway. Bärenschanze, with the Kulturfeld barracks and the roll-call field, runs parallel to Fürther Strasse. Located on a narrow, elongated stretch of ground between the barracks and the Lederer brewery in the top left-hand corner of the picture, is the old Jewish cemetery. Aerial photo 1927

(Nuremberg City Archives, A 97 No. 278)

Leopold Berger

(1909-1942)

Location of stone: Willstrasse 5 District: Gostenhof
Sponsort: Anonymous Laying of stone: 23 February 2016

Biography

A stumbling stone for Leopold Berger was laid on 23 February 2016. He was murdered in Izbica, having attempted unsuccessfully to flee the German Reich and the territories occupied by the German armed forces.

Leopold Berger was born on 8 July 1909 in Nuremberg. He had five brothers and two sisters. His father Isak and his mother Jente (née Schlanger) came from Sokolow in the region of Galicia in eastern Poland.

In the late 19th and early 20th centuries, many Jews fled Galicia to escape the increasing persecution in the German Reich. They settled mainly in large cities. In Nuremberg Isak worked as a second-hand dealer.

In June 1933 Leopold emigrated to Czechoslovakia. In Prague he worked as a textile trader. The German Reich annexed the Sudetenland in October 1938 and in March 1939 established the German Protectorate of Bohemia and Moravia. This meant that Berger found himself once more in the German sphere of influence. At the beginning of 1940 he applied to emigrate to Shanghai. Many Jews fled there because, in contrast to most other countries, no entry visa was required. However, Berger was refused an exit permit from the Prague authorities.

On 12 February 1942 Leopold was deported to the ghetto in Theresienstadt. He was taken from there to the Izbica camp on 17 March 1942, where he was murdered.

Isak was sent to Buchenwald concentration camp and murdered there on 16 December 1939. Jente died on 31 December 1945.

- Nuremberg City Archives, C 21/X No. 1 registration card.

- Nuremberg City Archives (ed.), Gedenkbuch für die Nürnberger Opfer der Schoa (Quellen zur Geschichte und Kultur der Stadt Nürnberg, vol. 29), Nuremberg 1998, p. 25.

- Nuremberg City Archives (Hrsg.), Gedenkbuch für die Nürnberger Opfer der Schoa, supplementary volume (Quellen zur Geschichte und Kultur der Stadt Nürnberg, vol. 30), Nuremberg 2002, p. 6.

- www.holocaust.cz/de/opferdatenbank/opfer/76967-leopold-berger (on 22.01.2021).

Leopold Berger, Porträtfotografie um 1935.

(www.holocaust.cz/de/opferdatenbank/opfer/76967-leopold-berger)
Rot umrandet die Willstraße 5. Etwas darunter durchschneidet die Fürther Straße mit dem noch bestehenden Gleiskörper der Ludwigseisenbahn die Aufnahme. Parallel dazu verläuft die Bärenschanzstraße mit den Gebäuden der Kulturfeldkaserne und dem Appellplatz. Auf einem schmalen, langgestreckten Geländestreifen zwischen der Kaserne und der am oberen linken Bildrand erkennbaren Ledererbrauerei befindet sich der Alte Jüdische Friedhof. Luftaufnahme 1927.

(Stadtarchiv Nürnberg, A 97 Nr. 278)

Leopold Berger

(1909-1942)

Verlegeort: Willstraße 5 Stadtteil: Gostenhof
Patenschaft: Anonym Verlegedatum: 23. Februar 2016

Biografie

Für Leopold Berger wurde am 23. Februar 2016 ein Stolperstein verlegt. Er wurde in Izbica ermordet, nachdem er vergeblich versucht hatte, aus dem Deutschen Reich und den von der Wehrmacht besetzten Gebieten zu fliehen.

Leopold Berger kam am 8. Juli 1909 in Nürnberg zur Welt. Er hatte fünf Brüder und zwei Schwesterm. Sein Vater Isak und seine Mutter Jente, geborene Schlanger, stammten aus Sokolow in der Region Galizien im östlichen Polen.

Im späten 19. und frühen 20. Jahrhundert flohen viele Juden aus Galizien vor zunehmender Verfolgung ins Deutsche Reich. Vornehmlich ließen sie sich in Großstädten nieder. In Nürnberg arbeitete Isak als Trödler.

Im Juni 1933 emigrierte Leopold in die Tschechoslowakei. In Prag arbeitete er als Kaufmann für Textilien. Das Deutsche Reich annektierte im Oktober 1938 das Sudetenland und im März 1939 die gesamte Tschechei. Damit befand sich Berger wieder im deutschen Einflussbereich. Anfang 1940 stellte er den Antrag, nach Shanghai auszuwandern. Viele Juden flohen dorthin, weil man im Gegensatz zu den meisten anderen Ländern kein Visum zur Einreise benötigte. Berger erhielt aber keine Ausreisegenehmigung von den Prager Behörden.

Am 12. Februar 1942 wurde Leopold ins Ghetto Theresienstadt deportiert. Von dort verschleppte man ihn am 17. März 1942 ins Lager Izbica, wo er ermordet wurde.

Isak wurde in das KZ Buchenwald verschleppt und dort am 16. Dezember 1939 ermordet. Jente starb am 31. Dezember 1945.

- Stadtarchiv Nürnberg, C 21/X Nr. 1 Meldekarte.

- Stadtarchiv Nürnberg (Hrsg.), Gedenkbuch für die Nürnberger Opfer der Schoa (Quellen zur Geschichte und Kultur der Stadt Nürnberg, Bd. 29), Nürnberg 1998, S. 25.

- Stadtarchiv Nürnberg (Hrsg.), Gedenkbuch für die Nürnberger Opfer der Schoa, Ergänzungsband (Quellen zur Geschichte und Kultur der Stadt Nürnberg, Bd. 30), Nürnberg 2002, S. 6.

- www.holocaust.cz/de/opferdatenbank/opfer/76967-leopold-berger (Stand 22.01.2021).

Stolpersteine in der Nähe