Karl Kloss, portrait photo 1944.

(Nuremberg City Archives, prosecuting authority, Nuremberg Special Court, No. 2555)

Hotel “Goldener Adler” at Hallplatz 21. Picture postcard from around 1930.

(Collection Daniel Gürtler)

The building at Hallplatz 21, south of the Mauthalle, is circled in red. Königstrasse, the street further to the east (to the right in the picture), passes the Church of St. Lawrence and proceeds on down to the Pegnitz River, which can be seen at the top of the picture. Aerial photo 1927.

(Nuremberg City Archives, A 97 No. 295)

Karl Kloss

(1895-1944)

Location of stone: Hallplatz 21 District: St. Lorenz
Sponsor: Fliederlich e.V. – Gay Community Centre Laying of stone: 17 October 2017

Biography

Since 17 October 2017 stumbling stones have been reminding us of homosexual victims of National Socialism. The politics study-group from Fliederlich e.V., led by the late Ralph Hoffmann, initiated the laying of the stones. On the above-mentioned date, one of the stumbling stones laid by Gunter Demnig was for Karl Kloss. The show-trial in which Kloss was a defendant was open to the public. He took his own life at a point when the court was in recess.

Karl Kloss was born on 12 July 1895 in Steuden near Halle (Saale). His parents were Bernhard Kloss and Lina (née Markgraf). Kloss attended both school and vocational college in his home town, before working as a buffet attendant in Halle, Leipzig and Hamburg. Later he switched to the hotel business and was employed as a hotel porter in Magdeburg, Meiningen and Erfurt. Doubtless the frequent change of location enabled him to establish covert contact with other homosexuals and live out his homosexuality in secret.

Over the years, Kloss built up a large circle of acquaintances and for a long time he was able to avoid prosecution. The situation changed however in 1935, when the National Socialists tightened up Paragraph 175. This intensified the repression of homosexuals to a hitherto unknown extent. Immediately, the number of investigations against homosexuals in the whole of Germany escalated sharply. The following year, in Meiningen, Kloss was sentenced to six months’ imprisonment for contravening Paragraph 175. On the same grounds, two further convictions followed in 1938 and 1939 in Erfurt. In each case Kloss was sentenced to one year in prison.

After serving his sentence Kloss moved to Nuremberg, where he was employed again as a porter, at the “Goldener Aldler” hotel. In the hotel at Hallplatz 21, he lived in one of the rooms for staff members. Hotel guests and colleagues (who were later questioned by the police) only spoke well of him: he was attentive and helpful, behaved in a collegial manner to other members of staff and could be relied upon to take good care of the hotel guests.

At the beginning of 1944 Kloss was arrested at his place of work. Amongst his belongings, the police found several letters from the 36-year-old Nuremberg citizen Edmund Reuter and came to the conclusion that “the discovered letters from Reuter to Kloss were, as regards content, love letters and indicate that the two were in a relationship”. On these grounds, the public prosecution department brought charges against Kloss. However, the prosecutor’s office brought the case not to the regional court but to the infamous People’s Court in Nuremberg. What Kloss now faced was clear just from reading the formulation of the indictment: on the grounds of his homosexuality he was identified as a “habitual offender” and the objective was his “eradication”.

The trial began on 8 June 1944. The president of the People’s Court, Rudolf Oeschey, was known for insulting and humiliating defendants in the course of court proceedings. Moreover, the punishment that Oeschey handed out at the end of such show trials was draconian. In the months leading up to the proceedings against Kloss, he had sentenced several men to death for contravening Paragraph 175. After the trial started, it appears that Kloss very quickly gave up all hope and he committed suicide before the court could reach a verdict. In the midday recess Karl Kloss hanged himself with a strip of shirt in his cell in the remand prison.

- Nuremberg City Archives, C 21/IX registration card.

- Nuremberg City Archives, prosecuting authority, Nuremberg Special Court, No. 2555.

- Biographical compilation by Dr. Matthias Gemählich.

Karl Kloss, Porträtfotografie 1944.

(Staatsarchiv Nürnberg, Anklagebehörde beim Sondergericht Nürnberg, Nr. 2555)
Hotel „Goldener Adler“ am Hallplatz 21. Ansichtskarte um 1930.

(Sammlung Daniel Gürtler)
Rot umrandet das südlich der Mauthalle gelegene Gebäude Hallplatz 21. Etwas weiter östlich (hier rechts) verläuft die Königstraße, vorbei an der Lorenzkirche und hinunter zur Pegnitz, die am oberen Bildrand zu erkennen ist. Luftaufnahme 1927.

(Stadtarchiv Nürnberg, A 97 Nr. 295)

Karl Kloss

(1895-1944)

Verlegeort: Hallplatz 21 Stadtteil: St. Lorenz
Patenschaft: Fliederlich e.V. – queeres Zentrum Verlegedatum: 17. Oktober 2017

Biografie

Seit dem 17. Oktober 2017 erinnern Stolpersteine in Nürnberg auch an homosexuelle Opfer des Nationalsozialismus. Veranlasst hatte die Verlegung der Arbeitskreis Politik bei Fliederlich e.V. unter der Leitung von Ralph Hoffmann (†). An diesem Tag verlegte Gunter Demnig unter anderem einen Stolperstein für Karl Kloss, der sich in der Verhandlungspause das Leben nahm, als er bei einem Schauprozess öffentlich vorgeführt wurde.

Karl Kloss wurde am 12. Juli 1895 in Steuden bei Halle (Saale) geboren. Seine Eltern waren Bernhard Kloss und Lina, geborene Markgraf. In seinem Heimatort besuchte er die Volks- und Berufsschule. Anschließend arbeitete Kloss als Büfettgehilfe in Halle, Leipzig und Hamburg. Später wechselte er ins Hotelgewerbe und war unter anderem in Magdeburg, Meiningen und Erfurt als Hotelportier tätig. Die häufigen Ortswechsel erleichterten es ihm zweifellos, im Verborgenen seine Homosexualität zu leben und Kontakte zu anderen Homosexuellen zu knüpfen.

Über die Jahre baute sich Kloss einen großen Bekanntenkreis auf und er konnte lange Zeit der Strafverfolgung entgehen. Das änderte sich, als die Nationalsozialisten 1935 den § 175 verschärften und in diesem Zuge die Repression gegen Homosexuelle in bis dahin nicht gekanntem Maße intensivierten. Schlagartig schnellte nun die Zahl von Ermittlungsverfahren gegen Homosexuelle in ganz Deutschland in die Höhe. Im folgenden Jahr wurde Kloss in Meiningen wegen Verstoßes gegen den § 175 zu einer sechsmonatigen Haftstrafe verurteilt. Aus demselben Grund folgten 1938 und 1939 zwei weitere Verurteilungen in Erfurt zu jeweils einem Jahr Gefängnis.

Nach der Verbüßung seiner Haftstrafen siedelte Kloss im August 1940 nach Nürnberg über, wo er im Hotel „Goldener Adler“ abermals eine Anstellung als Portier fand. In dem Hotel am Hallplatz 21 bewohnte er eines der Zimmer für die Bediensteten. Hotelgäste sowie Arbeitskollegen, die die Polizei später befragte, wussten nur Gutes über Kloss zu berichten: Demnach war er ebenso aufmerksam wie hilfsbereit, verhielt sich gegenüber den anderen Bediensteten kollegial und kümmerte sich zuverlässig um die Anliegen der Hotelgäste.

Anfang 1944 wurde Kloss an seinem Arbeitsplatz festgenommen. In seinen Sachen fand die Polizei mehrere Briefe des 36-jährigen Nürnbergers Edmund Reuter und kam zu folgender Einschätzung: „Die vorgefundenen Briefe des Reuter an Kloss sind inhaltlich wie Liebesbriefe und so zu deuten, daß zwischen den Beiden ein regelrechtes Liebesverhältnis besteht.“ Die Staatsanwaltschaft erhob deswegen Anklage gegen Kloss. Allerdings tat sie dies nicht vor dem Landgericht, sondern vor dem berüchtigten Sondergericht Nürnberg. Bereits der Wortlaut der Anklageschrift ließ keinen Zweifel an dem, was Kloss nun bevorstand. Dort wurde er aufgrund seiner Homosexualität als „gefährlicher Gewohnheitsverbrecher“ bezeichnet und seine „Ausmerzung“ zum Ziel ausgegeben.

Zum Prozess kam es am 8. Juni 1944: Den Vorsitz führte der Sondergerichtspräsident Rudolf Oeschey, der dafür bekannt war, dass er Angeklagte im Laufe der Sitzung heftig beschimpfte und erniedrigte. Die Strafen, die Oeschey am Ende eines solchen Schauprozesses verhängte, waren zudem drakonisch. In den Monaten zuvor hatte er mehrere Männer wegen Verstoßes gegen den § 175 zum Tode verurteilt. Nach Beginn der Sitzung scheint Kloss schnell jegliche Hoffnung aufgegeben zu haben. Er setzte seinem Leben ein Ende, noch bevor ein Urteil gesprochen wurde. In der Mittagspause erhängte sich Karl Kloss mit einem Hemdstreifen in seiner Zelle in der Untersuchungshaftanstalt.

- Stadtarchiv Nürnberg, C 21/IX Meldekarte.

- Staatsarchiv Nürnberg, Anklagebehörde beim Sondergericht Nürnberg, Nr. 2555.

- Biografische Zusammenstellung von Dr. Matthias Gemählich.

Stolpersteine in der Nähe