View of Tucherstrasse in the direction of Obstmarkt. The house with the number 14 is the second building on the left-hand side. Photo from around 1920.

(Nuremberg City Archives, A44/C No. 6148.11)

Tuchstrasse 14 is circled in red. A little to the south are Spitalplatz (today Hans-Sachs-Platz), the Heilig Geist Church (Church of the Holy Spirit) and the main synagogue. In the middle of the picture, the Pegnitz River flows round Large Schütt Island, with the Heilig-Geist-Spital (Hospital of the Holy Spirit) at the western end. Aerial photo 1927.

(Nuremberg City Archives, A 97 No. 296)

Georg Jean Mayer

(1902-1943)

Location of stone: Tucherstrasse 14 District: St. Sebald
Sponsor: Dieter Barth Laying of stone: 9 November 2018

Biography

On 9 November 2018, the 80th anniversary of the “Night of Broken Glass”, Gunter Demnig laid stumbling stones in Nuremberg for the Jewish and homosexual victims of National Socialism. Dieter Barth sponsored the laying of the stone for Georg Jean Mayers. Mayer was murdered in 1943 in Gusen concentration camp.

Georg Jean Mayer was born on 13 February 1902 in Nuremberg. Georg’s parents were Konrad and Gertraud Mayer (née Fersch). His father worked as a packer. After leaving school and completing his apprenticeship, Mayer worked for a number of companies as a machinist. Later, he earned his living working as a servant in various hotels. From 1930 onwards, he and his mother ran a flower shop in the centre of Nuremberg. He married Elsa Wittasek on 28 April 1934. Elsa came from Fürth and was born there on 12 May 1905. The couple divorced on 2 August 1935.

In the same year, the district court in Nuremberg sentenced Mayer to one year’s imprisonment for contravening Paragraph 175. In prison Mayer got to know a fellow inmate with whom he began a sexual relationship. They remained in contact after being released from prison. When Mayer visited his friend in March 1938 in Diepersdorf, Central Franconia, they came to the attention of the police following a denunciation. Mayer was arrested immediately afterwards in his flat and taken into custody.

Police officers now began to investigate Mayer’s activities, including his sexual partners (some of whom were minors) from previous months and years. This resulted in him brought to trial at the Nuremberg-Fürth regional court. In June 1938 the court sentenced him to three years in prison. In addition, the judges decided to hold him under preventive detention, as he was a “dangerous persistent offender”. This meant that he would not be released after serving his sentence. Mayer was incarcerated at Waldheim Prison in Saxony until June 1941.

The judges’ decision resulted in Mayer initially being sent from Waldheim to the prison in Straubing. However, in December 1942, the Reich Ministry of Justice instructed that he be taken to Mauthausen concentration camp. Here, where the SS principle “extermination through work was practised”, prisoners in the “preventive detention” category were frequently murdered within a very short period. This was Mayer’s fate, only days after his arrival: in the register of deaths at Gusen, a satellite camp of Mauthausen concentration camp, his death is recorded as occurring on 5 January 1943.

- Nuremberg City Archives, C 21/IX registration card.

- Nuremberg City Archives, public prosecutor’s office, Regional Court of Nuremberg-Fürth II, No. 980.

-Online-Book for the Dead (“Room of Names”) Mauthausen Concentration Camp Memorial, URL: https://raumdernamen.mauthausen-memorial.org/.

- Biographical compilation by Dr. Matthias Gemählich.

Blick durch die Tuchergasse Richtung Obstmarkt. Die Hausnummer 14 ist das zweite Gebäude auf der linken Straßenseite. Fotografie, um 1920.

(Stadtarchiv Nürnberg, A44/C Nr. 6148.11)
Rot umrandet die Tucherstraße 14. Etwas südlich davon sind der Spitalplatz (heute Hans-Sachs-Platz), die Heilig-Geist-Kirche und die Hauptsynagoge zu erkennen. In der Bildmitte umfließt die Pegnitz die langgestreckte Große Insel Schütt, mit dem Heilig-Geist-Spital an ihrer Westspitze. Luftaufnahme 1927.

(Stadtarchiv Nürnberg, A 97 Nr. 296)

Georg Jean Mayer

(1902-1943)

Verlegeort: Tucherstraße 14 Stadtteil: St. Sebald
Patenschaft: Dieter Barth Verlegedatum: 9. November 2018

Biografie

Am 9. November 2018 kam Gunter Demnig zu einer Stolpersteinverlegung nach Nürnberg. An diesem geschichtsträchtigen Datum, dem 80. Jahrestag der „Reichskristallnacht“, verlegte er Stolpersteine für jüdische und homosexuelle Opfer des Nationalsozialismus. Dieter Barth übernahm die Patenschaft für Georg Jean Mayers Stolperstein. Mayer wurde 1943 im KZ Gusen ermordet.

Georg Jean Mayer kam am 13. Februar 1902 in Nürnberg zur Welt. Seine Eltern waren Konrad und Gertraud Mayer, geborene Fersch. Der Vater arbeitete als Packer. Nachdem er die Volksschule besucht und eine Lehre absolviert hatte, arbeitete Mayer in verschiedenen Betrieben als Fräser. Später bestritt er seinen Lebensunterhalt als Hausdiener in diversen Hotels. Ab 1930 betrieb Mayer gemeinsam mit seiner Mutter einen Blumenhandel in der Nürnberger Innenstadt. Am 28. April 1934 heiratete er Elsa Wittasek, die am 12. Mai 1905 in Fürth geboren worden war. Die Ehe wurde am 2. August 1935 wieder geschieden.

Im selben Jahr verurteilte das Amtsgericht Nürnberg Mayer erstmals wegen Verstoßes gegen den Paragraphen 175, die Strafe belief sich auf ein Jahr Gefängnis. Im Gefängnis lernte Mayer einen Mithäftling kennen, mit dem er eine sexuelle Beziehung unterhielt und über die Haftzeit hinaus in Kontakt blieb. Bei einem Besuch Mayers bei seinem Freund im mittelfränkischen Diepersdorf wurde die Polizei im März 1938 durch eine Denunziation auf die beiden aufmerksam. Mayer wurde unmittelbar darauf in seiner Wohnung festgenommen und kam in Untersuchungshaft.

Polizeibeamte begannen nun, sein Umfeld auszuleuchten und ermittelten weitere, zum Teil minderjährige Sexualpartner Mayers aus den vorangegangenen Monaten und Jahren. Die Ermittlungsergebnisse führten zu einer Anklage gegen Mayer vor dem Landgericht Nürnberg-Fürth, das ihn im Juni 1938 zu einer dreijährigen Zuchthausstrafe verurteilte. Zusätzlich entschieden die Richter, ihn als „gefährlichen Gewohnheitsverbrecher“ in Sicherungsverwahrung zu nehmen, was bedeutete, dass er auch nach Verbüßung der Zuchthausstrafe nicht freikommen würde. Bis zum Juni 1941 war Mayer daraufhin im Zuchthaus Waldheim in Sachsen inhaftiert.

Als Sicherungsverwahrten überstellte man ihn von dort aus zunächst in das Zuchthaus Straubing, von wo aus er auf Anweisung des Reichsjustizministeriums im Dezember 1942 ins KZ Mauthausen gebracht wurde. In dem Lager, in dem die SS die Devise „Vernichtung durch Arbeit“ praktizierte, wurden Häftlinge der Kategorie „Sicherungsverwahrung“ vielfach innerhalb von kürzester Zeit ermordet. Dieses Schicksal traf auch Mayer, nur wenige Tage nach seiner Ankunft: Sein Tod ist im Sterberegister des zum KZ Mauthausen gehörenden Außenlagers Gusen für den 5. Januar 1943 verzeichnet.

- Stadtarchiv Nürnberg, C 21/IX Meldekarte.

- Staatsarchiv Nürnberg, Staatsanwaltschaft bei dem Landgericht Nürnberg-Fürth II, Nr. 980.

- Online-Totenbuch („Raum der Namen“) der KZ-Gedenkstätte Mauthausen, URL: https://raumdernamen.mauthausen-memorial.org/.

- Biografische Zusammenstellung von Dr. Matthias Gemählich.

Stolpersteine in der Nähe