Anton Quittner, portrait photo from around 1930.

(Nuremberg City Archives C21/VII No. 121)

View of Hochstrasse looking westwards from the intersection of Hochstrasse and Moltkestrasse. The house with the number 33 is the third building on the left-hand side of the street. Photo from around 1920.

(Nuremberg City Archives, A39/I No 283 R)

The red circle marks the location of Hochstrasse 33. Hochstrasse is the street which cuts across the middle of the picture. Its eastern end is on the right in the photo. The street bordering the left-hand side of the picture margin is Roonstrasse. The Deutschherrn Meadow (Deutschherrnwiese) is visible at the top of the picture, to the north of Deutschherrnstrasse. Aerial photograph 1927.

(Nuremberg City Archives, A 97 No. 264)

Anton Quittner

(1868-1942)

Location of stone: Hochstrasse 33 District: Himpfelshof
Sponsors: Hubert Rottner Defet, Thommy Barth and others Laying of stone: 22 May 2004

Biography

On 22 May 2004 Gunter Demnig laid the first stumbling stones in Nuremberg. These included the stone for Anton Quittner, who was murdered in Thereisienstadt.

Anton Quittner, born on 6 January 1868 in Ungarisch-Brod in Moravia, was the son of tradesman Wilhelm Kaufmann and his wife Netti (née Schindler). On 31 October 1905 Anton moved to Nuremberg, having previously worked in Thalmässing. In Nuremberg he was employed as cultural officer by “Adas Israel”, an association for orthodox Jews.

Anton married Berta Goldschmidt in October 1907. She had been born on 28 April 1879 in Lohr am Main. The couple had two children: Hedwig (born 6 August 1908) and Martha (born 30 April 1918).

The youngest daughter died aged only 13 months. After completing her schooling, Hedwig worked as an office clerk. On 13 March 1933 she was sent to Erlangen Psychiatric Hospital. In the course of the “Aktion T4” euthansia programme, she was moved to Eglfing-Haar Psychiatric Hospital near Munich, on 16 September 1940. Four days later she was gassed in the Euthanasia Centre in Hartheim Castle near Linz.

Berta died on 18 November 1940 in Fürth. At the time, she was probably in the Jewish hospital there.

Anton was deported to Theresienstadt concentration camp on 10 September 1942. He died there a few weeks later, on 4 October.

- Nuremberg City Archives, C 21/X No. 7 registration card.

- Nuremberg City Archives (ed.), Gedenkbuch für die Nürnberger Opfer der Schoa (Quellen zur Geschichte und Kultur der Stadt Nürnberg, vol. 29), Nuremberg 1998, p. 266.

Anton Quittner, Porträtfotografie um 1930.

(Stadtarchiv Nürnberg C21/VII Nr. 121)
Blick von der Kreuzung Hoch- und Moltkestraße nach Westen durch die Hochstraße. Die Hausnummer 33 ist das dritte Gebäude auf der linken Straßenseite mit dem davor parkenden Fahrzeug. Fotografie um 1920.

(Stadtarchiv Nürnberg, A39/I Nr. 283 R)
Rot umrandet die Hochstraße 33. Mittig durschneidet die Hochstraße die Aufnahme von Ost nach West (hier von rechts nach links). Am linken Bildrand verläuft ist Roonstraße, die im weiteren Verlauf in die Johannisbrücke übergeht. Nördlich der parallel zur Hochstraße verlaufenden Deutschherrnstraße ist am oberen Bildrand die Deutschherrnwiese zu erkennen. Luftaufnahme 1927.

(Stadtarchiv Nürnberg, A 97 Nr. 264)

Anton Quittner

(1868-1942)

Verlegeort: Hochstraße 33 Stadtteil: Himpfelshof
Patenschaft: Hubert Rottner Defet, Thommy Barth u. a. Verlegedatum: 22. Mai 2004

Biografie

Am 22. Mai 2004 verlegte Gunter Demnig die ersten Stolpersteine in Nürnberg. Darunter befand sich der Stolperstein für Anton Quittner, der in Theresienstadt ermordet wurde.

Anton Quittner wurde am 6. Januar 1868 in Ungarisch-Brod in Mähren geboren. Seine Eltern waren der Kaufmann Wilhelm Quittner und dessen Ehefrau Netti, geborene Schindler. Am 31. Oktober 1905 zog Anton nach Nürnberg. Vorher war er in Thalmässing tätig. In Nürnberg arbeitete er als Kultusbeamter für den orthodoxen Verein „Adas Israel“.

Im Oktober 1907 heiratete er Berta Goldschmidt, die am 28. April 1879 in Lohr am Main geboren worden war. Sie bekamen zwei Töchter: Hedwig (* 6. August 1908) und Martha (* 30. April 1918).

Die jüngere Tochter starb im Alter von nur 13 Monaten. Hedwig arbeitete nach der Schulausbildung als Kontoristin. Am 13. März 1933 wurde sie in die Heil- und Pflegeanstalt Erlangen eingeliefert. Im Zuge der „Aktion T4“ verlegte man sie am 16. September 1940 in die Heil- und Pflegeanstalt Eglfing-Haar bei München. Vier Tage später wurde sie in der Tötungsanstalt Schloss Hartheim bei Linz vergast.

Berta starb am 18. November 1940 in Fürth. Vermutlich befand sie sich dort im jüdischen Krankenhaus.

Anton wurde am 10. September 1942 in das KZ Theresienstadt deportiert, wo er wenige Wochen später am 4. Oktober starb.

- Stadtarchiv Nürnberg, C 21/X Nr. 7 Meldekarte.

- Stadtarchiv Nürnberg (Hrsg.), Gedenkbuch für die Nürnberger Opfer der Schoa (Quellen zur Geschichte und Kultur der Stadt Nürnberg, Bd. 29), Nürnberg 1998, S. 266.

Stolpersteine in der Nähe